---
title: "Delete all usage groups for a customer with an existing configuration | Grafana Cloud documentation"
description: "How to delete all usage groups for a customer stack that already has usage groups configured."
---

> For a curated documentation index, see [llms.txt](/llms.txt). For the complete documentation index, see [llms-full.txt](/llms-full.txt).

# Delete an existing usage groups configuration

This section describes how to delete an existing `MimirUsageGroupsConfiguration` resource named `config` for a customer stack.

> Note
> 
> After deletion, no usage groups remain configured for the stack. If needed, they must be defined again from scratch.

## Before you begin

> Note
> 
> Ensure you have completed the [prerequisites](/docs/grafana-cloud/cost-management-and-billing/analyze-costs/metrics-costs/usage-groups/configure-usage-groups/#before-you-begin).

## Step 1: Select the customer context

Use `gcx CLI` to switch to the desired context:

Bash ![Copy code to clipboard](/media/images/icons/icon-copy-small-2.svg) Copy

```bash
gcx config use-context <CONTEXT>
```

For more details on how to correctly configure contexts, refer to the [gcx CLI Configuration](https://github.com/grafana/gcx/blob/main/docs/configuration.md).

## Step 2: Delete the configuration

Delete the existing `MimirUsageGroupsConfiguration` resource:

Bash ![Copy code to clipboard](/media/images/icons/icon-copy-small-2.svg) Copy

```bash
  gcx resources delete mimirusagegroupsconfiguration/config
```

If the deletion is successful, the following message is displayed:

![Copy code to clipboard](/media/images/icons/icon-copy-small-2.svg) Copy

```none
  ✔ 1 resources deleted, 0 errors
```

This indicates that the `MimirUsageGroupsConfiguration` resource named `config` has been deleted from the namespace associated with the customer’s stack. As a consequence, the usage group configuration is removed from the customer’s Mimir environment.
